Free e-Visas for Visitors to the Far East

New electronic visas introduced to stimulate tourism in the Russian regions.

Photo by Leonid Sorokin

If you have ever wanted to visit Russia’s Far East, the process has just gotten easier. Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a law allowing foreigners to travel to the Far East on a simplified visa regime. The newly introduced e-visa will allow travelers to enter Russia through the border crossing in the Free Port of Vladivostok.

Foreign citizens will be able to visit any of the five Far Eastern regions covered by the free port regime: the Primorye, Chukotka, Sakhalin, Khabarovsk and Kamchatka regions. Under the new law, foreign citizens with electronic visas can travel within the region for up to eight days before leaving Russia via the free port territory. The e-visa can be obtained four days prior to travel without any consular fee and is valid for 30 days.

The law was passed ahead of the third Eastern Economic Forum in an effort to attract investors and to develop the tourist industry in regions visited less frequently.